Safeguarding Adults in the Care Home

This excellent resource provides fully up to date guidance on how to safeguard the welfare of older people within care homes. Filmed entirely in real care settings this title will explain to workers what abuse is and how to recognise the signs and symptoms of abuse. Depicting dramatic scenes of abuse this title will help bring the realities of adult abuse to life, teaching care workers why abuse should never be ignored.

This video and supporting materials provide information on the 10 types of abuse recognised by the Care Act and the 6 Principles of Safeguarding.

Subjects covered include: 

Role of the Carer in Maintaining a Culture which Safeguards the Individual • Legislation and Policy • Concept and Definition of Abuse Using Illustrated Examples, Categories & Prevalence • Principles of Abuse • Signs and Symptoms of Abuse • Responding to Abuse • Conclusions

Format Video-based eLearning
Course Duration   
28 Minutes approximately
Course Content 12 Interactive Chapters, Assessment Quiz and a CPD Accredited Certificate
Consultant Dr Barry Wilson PhD, BA, CQSW
Peer Review   Elaine Grade, Anchor Care
 Standards   England

Care Certificate Standard 10


RQF: Safeguarding and protection in care settings (Level 2 Diploma in Care, Level 3 Diploma in Adult Care, Level 3 Diploma in Healthcare Support)


All Wales Induction Framework for Health and Social Care (AWIFHSC) Sections 3, 5 & 6


National Care Standards

Northern Ireland

NISCC's Induction Standards

References The Care Certificate, AWIFHSC

Client reviews:

"Very useful for new staff and a good prompt for more experienced practitioners, BVS have presented what can be an emotive subject area in an effective and positive framework.”

The Social Care Association